Adventures in Being a Real Life Grown-Up

Alternatively titled, I’m 24, Not an Idiot. For Reals + 37 Unrelated Emojis.

Mike and I are currently riding the roller coaster otherwise known as trying to buy our first home, and let me just tell you– I’ve aged about ten years in one week (and sincerely wondering why no one teaches you about this stuff in high school because, hello).

Our Mortgage Guy suggested that I look into refinancing the loan on my car to make things look a little better financially on paper (insert boring mortgage-related jargon here), so I did. Not a big deal. I really should have done it a while ago anyway, because buying the car when I was 20 with five minutes of credit history = disgusting interest rate.

I decided to try refinancing with my current lienholder (The Bank That Shall Not Be Named) because I figured– You already have my money, you probably want to keep my money, YOU’RE WELCOME. Apparently the customer service rep who handled my request assumed I had < 2 brain cells because he presented me with the most ludicrous offers of all time:

a) Refi my car AND get $5K in cash to “enjoy a vacation or pay down my credit cards” at an interest rate that is higher than any of my credit cards so ARE YOU CRAZY.

b) Refi my car for an additional 60 months at an interest rate that is higher than the one you gave me when I was 20 with five minutes of credit history so NO THANK YOU.

Needless to say, I politely declined and applied to refinance with the bank we used for our SUV. Their offer was exponentially more reasonable (and a big improvement on the terms we currently have with The Bank That Shall Not Be Named), so we accepted and all is right with the world.

Moral of the story? Being a real-life grown up is tiring. And kind of lame. And a lot harder when you’re 24 and still tugging on the big girl pants and the end goal is to “look good on paper,” but few and far between are the people who are willing to help you do it.

Thank goodness for our Mortgage Guy, for The Bank That Is Fairly Certain I’m Not An Idiot, for our amazing realtor, and everyone else who has even an ounce of faith that we can do this. I get it that twenty-somethings are statistically untrustworthy (i.e. make poor life choices), so you really have no reason to believe that we won’t royally mess this up. Well, aside from six-ish years of meticulously building our credit and working ourselves into the ground.

You guys are awesome, and I promise we won’t let you down. For reals 🙂 😛 😆

Author: Erica the Great

twenty-something + wife + momma + teacher + lover of nutella

Leave a Reply

