Shouting It From the Mountaintops

No one tells you how complicated it is to buy a house. Or maybe they do, and we just choose not to listen. It’s one of those things, much like birthing babies, where we romanticize the end result so much that we refuse to acknowledge the actual pain involved until we’re in the thick of it, begging for an epidural.

And believe me when I say that we are in the thick of it. GIVE ME THE JUICE.

Shortly after being pre-approved, we found a steal of a starter home in a great town and put an offer in about two weeks ago. Our offer was accepted the next day. Since then, we’ve had inspections done and written checks and signed our names about a bazillion different times for about a bazillion different things. We are so incredibly fortunate to be surrounded by such patient, kind people in this process, or my head would literally have exploded by now.

Even though our Mortgage Guy tells me to RELAX every time I see him, I still feel like I’m going to be holding my breath until I see the loan commitment letter and I have the keys in my hands. Part of me still doesn’t believe we’re actually able to buy a house. I’m afraid to shout it from the mountaintops of social media or picture our future in that house because what if it doesn’t happen?

There it is. The heaviness– the fear– weighing on me in what should be an exciting time. What if it doesn’t happen? Well…

WE’LL BE OKAY.

We’ll be okay because we’re happy and healthy and have a roof over our heads. We’ll be okay because we have food to eat and jobs that provide for us and friends and families that support us. We’ll be okay because it isn’t our plans that really matter anyway, and all good things come in their own time.

I’ll probably need to read those words a few million times between now and our settlement date, because “high strung” doesn’t even begin to cover it under normal circumstances. I’ll try really hard to take our Mortgage Guy’s advice and RELAX. I might even start to picture Christmases and new babies and birthday parties because HOW EXCITING! You guys…

Screen Shot 2014-08-12 at 10.41.04 AM

WE’RE BUYING A HOUSE!

Author: Erica the Great

twenty-something + wife + momma + teacher + lover of nutella

Leave a Reply

