For Alex

IMG_7130

You’ve been part of this family even longer than you’ve had a heartbeat. We talked about you and prayed and planned for you long before that Sunday in September when I found out you were on your way.

You’re the second, and that’s a special thing. Three years ago, I wrote a post to your brother about ten things I wanted him to know, and now it’s for you, too. I want you to know the importance of being kind, brave, and hardworking. I want you to know that I am your biggest fan, and I’ll love you no matter what. But, Little Brother, there are some other things you need to know, that are just for you.

Being the second comes with some definite perks. For one, your dad and I aren’t total amateurs this time around. We’ve learned a thing or twelve over the last few years, so we might be able to fool you into thinking we sort of know what we’re doing. Being the second also means that you’ll have an older brother to show you the ropes! Someone to set an example worth following, and a personal chauffeur when you guys get to high school 😉

I hope you learn a lot from your brother, but I hope you learn even more on your own. There’s definitely some truth to the “older and wiser” thing, but he doesn’t know it all (contrary to what he may lead you to believe). I hope you soak up all of the good in this big, wide world. Ask questions! Try new things and fail miserably and try a thousand more times if you have to. Never stop learning.

You are going to live in hand-me-downs, and I’m sorryWe’ll make up for it by letting you get away with way more than Landon, because let’s face it– everyone gets off easier than the firstborn.

You’re going to be really good at sharing. Good sharers = good humans. Teach Landon a thing or two about it, but go slow, because this is new ground for him. Maybe stay clear of his Legos for a while.

Siblings are the best (you’re welcome). Nothing compares to the stories you will have to tell years from now after you guys have grown up and turned me gray (just, please– not before I’m thirty). And on that note…

I know you didn’t do it. Little brothers get blamed for everything. I’m the oldest and will be the first to tell you that younger siblings were made to take the blame. Moms have super ninja detective powers, though, so I’ll get to the bottom of it. Don’t worry.

You are fearfully and wonderfully made. As you grow up, people will probably refer to you as “Landon’s brother.” They’ll compare you to him and you’ll probably do the same, but know this– you are beautifully different, and that’s something to be proud of.

We can’t wait to meet you, little man! You are so, so loved.

Leave a Reply

