Currently // 1.18.16

Writing an actual post (albeit a list) for the first time in monthsThankful for a day off, and kids who aren’t home sick from daycare. It’s the little things, you guys.

Reading and teaching some really awesome kid lit! My intermediate team gets to mix up our third, fourth, and fifth graders twice a year for book clubs, and I really can’t rave about it enough. I’ve gotten to introduce my kiddos to great reads like Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library and Flora and Ulysses, and right now we’re reading this book from the Nathan Hale’s Hazardous Tales series:

Screen Shot 2016-01-18 at 3.56.09 PM

Donner Dinner Party

It’s a graphic novel, incredibly well-written and packed with details that get the kids– particularly my more reluctant readers– engaged and excited about history. Another teacher on my team is reading the book from this series about World War I, and the kids are just as in love with it. When I’m done with it– and if I can carve out fifteen minutes of my life– I’ll write a post to share the primary sources and learning experiences I’m weaving into our work with it.

Completely obsessed with Hamilton. This is easily at the top of my bucket list for 2016. The soundtrack has all but been playing on a loop for weeks, and it is nothing short of brilliant. One of my teammates has orchestra seats for later this week, and I’ve told her more than a few times how insanely jealous I am! I’m coming for you, Hamilton! Hold on while I sell my right arm and/or firstborn.

On my reading list:

I Was Told There’d Be Cake // Maybe in Another Life // She Reads Truth

Preparing to start my second semester of grad school. When did that happen? I felt like the first semester was a blur. Part of me hopes that it all goes that fast, but then I remember that fast-forwarding through the next two-and-a-half years means I’ll have boys who are three and six. WHAT?

Speaking of those little nuggets…

Alex is newly mobile, army-crawling all over creation (especially if he’s trying to get to Big Brother’s toys) and tentatively pulling himself up to standing. His adoration for Landon is mutual (for the time being). They’ve both been taking turns being sick for the last couple of weeks, with colds, the flu, pink eye… I mean, really, it’s been a lot of fun over here. That hasn’t stopped Landon from greeting the day before the sun rises and practicing his ninja moves, though, don’t worry.

Quickwriting a zillion drafts that I’d like to turn into real writing, if only a girl could get a couple of snow days and more than five consecutive hours of sleep. If I died tomorrow, someone would open up the notes app on my phone and find post upon post of half-finished blurbs that may or may not make sense, and word would get around that I’m crazy. The good ones are, though, right? There are a lot of things I want to write, I just haven’t found all of the words yet. But I will.

Happy Monday, everyone!

Author: Erica the Great

twenty-something + wife + momma + teacher + lover of nutella

Leave a Reply

